Recommended Certifications for Healthcare IT Specialists

Recommended Certifications for Healthcare IT Specialists

The world of healthcare is vast and varied. The evolution of privacy laws, not just in the US but around the world, has made patient confidentiality and the protection of information more important than ever before. As a result, the average IT professional can’t necessarily find a job within the healthcare field unless he has a specialized certification. While you don’t need to have a whole list of certifications, you’ll need to invest in at least one good one.

CompTIA Healthcare IT Technician

This particular certification focuses on the ability of IT specialists to work on systems in clinical healthcare settings, whether they’re in individual doctor offices or hospitals. Those obtaining this certification will learn about regulatory rules, best practices, the way medical businesses work, and security. You’ll need to purchase self-study materials and then the cost for the exam is $100. You’ll have to either complete continuing education or re-take the exam after every three year period.


The CHISP designation is offered by the American Society of Health Informatics Managers. Those sitting for the exam need to demonstrate their understanding of medical terminology, healthcare billing systems, computer science, security as it applies to data and data mining, and more. This designation proves that the holder has a strong understanding of both the IT field and the healthcare field. You need to have three years of IT experience to sit for the exam, or you must have taken the ASHIM training program, the Microsoft certification, or the CISCO certification.

Certified Healthcare CIO

The Certified Healthcare CIO designation, or CHCIO, speaks more about your leadership abilities than it does your technical skills, but is a great added designation for those who are applying for management roles within the IT field. The exam will test your ability to analyze complex situational scenarios, specifically looking for your ideas on how to respond to each. Continuing education is required after obtaining this certification.


The AHIMA organization offers the RHIA designation, specifically designed to prove your ability to use healthcare coding, understand the importance of health information data, and to protect privacy and security. RHIA certificate participants have the skill necessary to link the patient, billing, and care systems without causing overlaps or breaches in security. You’ll need to have a BA or higher to earn this degree, must take an exam,and must pay an annual membership fee.

As healthcare IT consultants, you’ll work hard to bring the world of patient care to a place where privacy and security are paramount. Work towards one of the certifications, and you’ll be well on your way towards advancement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>